

Format

Catalog Number

VISTA 015LP

5063176052711

Store Price \$21.99

LP

FAN

JONAS MUNK Mirror Phase

Label

AZURE VISTA RECORDS

Format **2CD**

Catalog Number

VISTA 015CD

EAN

5063176052827



Store Price

\$11.99

Release Date

11/08/24

Territory

U.S. EXCLUSIVE (No Exports)

Genre

FILE UNDER - M - ELECTRONIC



DESCRIPTION

Mirror Phase concludes a trilogy of minimal ambient albums in Jonas Munk's own name. These eight compositions, based on guitar and synthesizer loops, marks a return to the warmer sounds Munk is often associated with. Sonic structures that slowly and gradually evolves and changes, like cloud formations in the sky. The title track "Mirror Phase" is Munk's most expansive drone opus so far. It's a carefully arranged piece where sounds that oscillates with the same interval, but at different phases, are continuously added, hence creating shifting patterns throughout the track's nearly 18-minute duration. Elsewhere, in "Transition," multilayered guitars create the sonic equivalent of waves gently splashing on the shore. "At a Distance" creates a haunting, and hypnotic, soundscape by using slightly out-of-tune analog synthesizers, summoning the transcendent krautrock of Popol Vuh. "Rise," as well as the closing track "Return to Nowhere," recall the glistening sounds of his Manual releases. Mirror Phase might just be Munk's ambient oeuvre reaching its zenith. RIYL: Fripp & Eno, William Basinski, Christopher Willits, Stars of the Lid. CD comes with Munk's previous album Altered Light, vinyl is limited to 300 copies on milky clear vinyl.

TRACKLISTING

CD

1.01. Dawn Layer

1.02. Transition

1.03. Drift

1.04. At a Distance

1.05. Aureolin

1.06. Rise

1.07. Mirror Phase

1.08. Return To Nowhere

2.01. Altered Light

2.02. November

2.03. Terrain Vague

2.04. Monbijou

2.05. Quiet Waters

2.06. Dimlands

2.07. Inner Sky

2.08. Waiting For The Ghosts

LP

01. Dawn Layer

02. Transition

03. Drift

04. At a Distance

05. Aureolin

06. Rise

07. Mirror Phase

08. Return To Nowhere

HIGHLIGHTS

- Mirror Phase concludes a trilogy of minimal ambient albums in Jonas Munk's own name.
- These eight compositions, based on guitar and synthesizer loops, marks a return to the warmer sounds Munk is often associated with. Sonic structures that slowly and gradually evolves and changes, like cloud formations in the sky.
- RIYL: Fripp & Eno, William Basinski, Christopher Willits, Stars of the Lid.

Press Contact: publicity@forcedexposure.com

Exclusively Distributed by FORCED EXPOSURE

60 Lowell St, Arlington, MA 02476 ph: (781) 321-0320 • fx: (781) 321-0321 fe@forcedexposure.com