BLUME 023
New Music
For Electronic And
Recorded Media

Johanna M. Beyer Annea Lockwood Pauline Oliveros Laurie Spiegel Megan Roberts Ruth Anderson

New Marie For Electronic And Flacoristic Media was originally leaved by Thomas Bilancian 1750 And Flacoristic Head of 1750 And Flacorist in 1977. At the time of the abunt's release—with the exception of Megan Roberts and Johanna M. Beyer, who mains selfully discours to this day – Annea and Head of the Annea Annea and Head of the Annea and Head of the

VA New Music for Electronic and Recorded Media

Label

BLUME

Format

LP

Catalog Number

BLUME 023LP

UPC

769791986541



Store Price

\$20.79

Release Date

08/30/24

Territory

NORTH AMERICAN EXCLUSIVE

Genre

FILE UNDER - V/A - ELECTRONIC



DESCRIPTION

the seminal New Music for Electronic and Recorded Media, from 1977, the third and final instalment in a suite of releases that includes James Tenney's Postal Pieces (BLUME 022LP) and Ben Vida's Vocal Trio (BLUME 024LP). Unquestionably among the most important collections of experimental music to emerge during the 20th Century, New Music for Electronic and Recorded Media is the original feminist presentation in its context, releasing the work of **Johanna** M. Beyer, Annea Lockwood, Pauline Oliveros, Laurie Spiegel, Megan Roberts, Ruth Anderson, and Laurie Anderson under its collective banner. Includes newly commissioned liner notes by Jennifer Lucy Allen and Bradford **Bailey**. New Music for Electronic and Recorded Media can be understood within two simple frameworks. On one hand, it is an astounding document of the landscape of experimental music toward the end of the 1970s. On the other, it is a historically significant feminist statement, being the first collection of experimental music entirely dedicated to female composers, a number of whom were grossly under-celebrated at the time, but have since gone on to be regarded as among the most important composers of their generation. The eight pieces gathered by New Music for Electronic and Recorded Media might be regarded as the first cohesive vision of alternate proximity or expression of experimental music to what has always been a frustratingly male dominated environment, and to the tropes, temperaments, and sensibilities that have been historically perceived to define it. It is an expanded vision of truth. While its historical significance and groundbreaking nature cannot be debated in its totality, nearly half a century on New Music for Electronic and Recorded Media remains compelling in both its musicality and the palpable sense of its lasting influence. Every composition across the album's two sides is not only engrossing and deeply compelling - feeling as fresh and relevant as the day it was laid to tape - but clearly tangible in their lasting influence. Absolutely seminal and not to be missed.

Marking its first decade of activity, Blume returns with the first ever vinyl reissue of

TRACKLISTING

- A1. Johanna Beyer Music Of The Spheres (6:00)
- A2. Annea Lockwood World Rhythms (8:24)
- A3. Pauline Oliveros Bye Bye Butterfly (8:06)
- B1. Laurie Spiegel Appalachian Grove I (5:30)
- B2. Megan Roberts I Could Sit Here All Day (6:25)
- B3. Ruth Anderson Points (5:32)
- B4. Laurie Anderson New York Social Life (3:30)
- B5. Laurie Anderson Time To Go (2:54)

HIGHLIGHTS

- Marking its first decade of activity, Blume returns with the first ever vinyl reissue of the seminal New Music for Electronic and Recorded Media, from 1977.
- The eight pieces gathered by New Music for Electronic and Recorded Media
 might be regarded as the first cohesive vision of alternate proximity or
 expression of experimental music to what has always been a frustratingly male
 dominated environment.
- Featuring Johanna M. Beyer, Annea Lockwood, Pauline Oliveros, Laurie Spiegel, Megan Roberts, Ruth Anderson, and Laurie Anderson.

Press Contact: publicity@forcedexposure.com

Exclusively Distributed by

FORCED EXPOSURE

60 Lowell St, Arlington, MA 02476 ph: (781) 321-0320 • fx: (781) 321-0321 fe@forcedexposure.com